Between 1989 and 1994, dioceses in the Mid-Atlantic Region (Baltimore, DC, Virginia, and Pennsylvania) met annually to discuss issues and topics of mutual interest.  Additionally, the Dioceses of New York held similar meetings for all the dioceses in their state.  Around this same time, there were similar annual regional meetings taking place in the West; specifically, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, and finally Portland.

In February 1994, the Diocese of Fresno contacted the Archdiocese of Baltimore to inquire about a local, non-denominational conference scheduled in Baltimore to see if it was worth attending.  During this conference, facility representatives met from the surrounding Baltimore area dioceses to discuss what was happening on both sides of the Country.  The Eastern contingency was informed of the Western Conference to be held in Denver in the spring of 1994.  As a result of this meeting, the conference extended invitations to many of the Easter dioceses.

In April of 1995, the Western Conference held in San Francisco was attended by approximately 50 personnel from dioceses across the country.  At the conclusion of that meeting, there was an extended discussion among all the attendees of our future course.  An East coast venue for the next meeting would assist in the establishment of a national organization.

The Archdiocese of Baltimore hosted the “1st National Conference” in April 1996, where 75 dioceses were represented with over 125 total attendees.  An ad-hoc committee was formed to plan the next conference in Phoenix and began preparations for a formal organization with a constitution and by-laws with the goal of being listed in the Official Catholic Directory.  Lou Baird was appointed the chairperson.

In 1997, the Diocese of Phoenix held the most successful conference to date, drawing almost 125 diocesan representatives.  The new bylaws and constitution were adopted, officers elected, and the listing in the Official Catholic Directory was established.


Our annual conference sites have been;

1996: Baltimore, MD

1997: Phoenix, AZ

1998: Newport, RI

1999: Palm Springs, CA

2000: Atlanta, GA

2001: Indianapolis, IN

2002: St. Petersburg, FL

2003: San Diego, CA

2004: New Orleans, LA

2005: Denver, CO

2006: Washington, DC

2007: Chicago, IL

2008: Orlando, FL

2009: Pittsburgh, PA

2010: Orange, CA

2011: St. Louis, MO

2012: Covington, KY